Back to the previous page

UNITED STATES / New York: CFDA Fashion Awards 2017

June 08 2017

The winners of the CFDA Awards, the recognition that each year pays homage to the fashion designers for the outstanding contributions made to American fashion in womenswear, menswear and accessories, were announced Monday night, 5th of June, inside The Manhattan Center’s Hammerstein Ballroom, in New York.

Raf Simons won the prestigious prize for Womenswear Designer of the Year and Menswear Designer of the Year, the first to receive both honors after Calvin Klein in 1993.
After a great success as creative director at the French fashion house Christian Dior, the Belgian designer is at the helm of Calvin Klein since last August and made his debut as chief creative officer of the iconic American brand in February, with a co-ed show in the Big Apple presenting the Fall Winter 2017-18 collection.

Whereas the Accessory Designer of the Year went to Stuart Vevers for Coach. The British designer, who worked previously at Loewe and Mulberry, contributed to give the label a strong and contemporary American attitude with a younger and cooler image, conquering new international consumers and focusing on the product. Recently the luxury firm revealed a collaboration with Selena Gomez and a clothing and accessories capsule collection with the Los Angeles brand Rodarte.

Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia, the emergent duo behind Monse, took home the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent. The designers are also the co-creative directors of Oscar de la Renta, named last year replacing the British designer Peter Copping, and they showed both labels in February in New York.

The ceremony were hosted by Seth Meyers. Presenters included Nicole Kidman, Armie Hammer, Mandy Moore and Kerry Washington. CFDA honored Franca Sozzani (who departed last December) with the Fashion Icon award, while Demna Gvasalia of Vetements and Balenciaga was recognized with the International Award. The inaugural Swarovski Award for Positive Change was presented to Kenneth Cole, instead Rick Owens received the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. The Founder’s Award has gone to the make-up artist Pat McGrath and the Board of Directors’ Tribute has been assigned to Gloria Steinem, Cecile Richards and Janelle Monáe.

«Tonight, we have come together to honor the best and brightest talents and bring recognition to all of American fashion», said Steven Kolb, President and CEO of the CFDA.