Back to the previous page

The Turner Prize 2010 has been awarded to Susan Philipsz

December 07 2010

It was announced at Tate Britain on Monday December 7. The £25,000 prize was presented by Miuccia Prada. This year’s prize fund is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists.

The jury awarded the prize to Susan Philipsz for the presentations of Lowlands at the Glasgow International Festival of Visual Art and Long Gone in the group exhibition Mirrors at MARCO Museo de Arte Comtemporánea de Vigo, Spain. The jury admired the way in which her work provokes both intellectual and instinctive responses and reflects a series of decisions about the relationship between sound and sight.

The Turner Prize 2010 is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 27 April 2010. (The term British applies to all artists working in the United Kingdom and to British-born artists who may be working abroad.) The Prize was established in 1984.

The shortlisted artists for 2010 were: Dexter Dalwood, Angela de la Cruz, The Otolith Group and Susan Philipsz.

The members of the Turner Prize 2010 Jury were: Isabel Carlos, Director, Centre for Modern Art CAMJAP; Philip Hensher, Writer, critic and journalist; Andrew Nairne, Executive Director, Arts Strategy, Arts Council England; Polly Staple, Director, Chisenhale Gallery and Penelope Curtis, Director, Tate Britain and Chair of the Jury.

The exhibition of the four shortlisted artists is at Tate Britain until 3 January 2011.

Susan Philipsz, LOWLANDS 2008 / 2010, Clyde Walkway, Glasgow. © The artist, courtesy Glasgow International Festival of Visual Art. Photo: Eoghan McTigue

More info TATE