Back to the previous page

Upcoming designers awarded at the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers.

September 05 2019

This Wednesday, September 4, was held the final of the Louis Vuitton Prize for Young Fashion Designers.

For this 6th edition, the jury composed of Louis Vuitton's Deputy General Manager Delphine Arnault and industry players such as Maria Grazia Chiuri, Artistic Director of Christian Dior Couture; Jonathan Anderson, Artistic Director of Loewe; Kris Van Assche, Artistic Director of Berluti; Marc Jacobs, Artistic Director of Marc Jacobs; Clare Waight Keller, Artistic Director of Givenchy; Jean-Paul Claverie, Advisor to Bernard Arnault and Director of Patronage of LVMH; and Sidney Toledano, President and CEO of the LVMH Fashion Group, awarded the Grand Prize to South African designer Thebe Magugu and the Lagerfeld Prize to Israeli Hed Mayner.

Since 2014, the LVMH group has been organizing a prize to highlight and support the work of young actors in the world of fashion. After the Japanese label Doublet, awarded last year, the French Marine Serre in 2017, Grace Wales Bonner in 2016 and the London duo Marques' Almeida the year before; it is Thebe Magugu and his label's turn to win the Grand Prize. He will be granted 300,000 euros and a year of mentoring provided by a team from the group. This will allow him to develop his brand.

The Grand Prize is accompanied by another award: the Special Prize, which became the Karl Lagerfeld Prize, in tribute to the great creator who died last February

Three young fashion school graduates are also honoured this year: Alice Paris, Daisy Yu and Juliette Tréhorel. These up-and-coming creators receive an endowment of 10,000 euros and have the opportunity to join one of the group's houses for one year: Givenchy, Louis Vuitton and Christian Dior.

Next edition will be held in June.