Chanel Next Prize: the winners
by Modem – Posted December 16 2021
© Modem

Chanel announced the ten winners of the first edition of the Next Prize, an international award to aim to aid contemporary artists in developing innovative projects in the fields of design, film and the performing and visual arts. Chanel launched the biennial Next prize earlier this year as part of the Chanel Culture Fund, the initiative to support the arts, also using the collaboration with partners such as the Centre Pompidou in Paris, The National Portrait Gallery in London, The Underground Museum in Los Angeles and GES-2 in Moscow.
Each winner of the Chanel Next prize received 100,000€ in funding to invest in their work as well as access to mentorship and networking opportunities facilitated by the brand.
The winners were selected by a prestigious jury composed of actor Tilda Swinton, British architect David Adjaye and Chinese artist Cao Fei. Nominations were made by a group of different creatives selected by Chanel.

Here is the full list of winners:

Jung Jae-il: music composer and performer.
Botis Seva: a British dancer and choreographer.
Marie Schleef: a Berlin-based theatre director.
Keiken: an artist collective, co-founded by Tanya Cruz, Hana Omori and Isabel Ramos.
Lual Mayen: a game developer and designer from South Sudan.
Wang Bing: a Chinese filmmaker and producer.
Precious Okoyomon: a British artist and poet.
Eduardo Williams: an Argentinian filmmaker.
Marlene Monteiro Freitas: a Cape Verdean dancer and choreographer.
Rungano Nyoni: a Zambian filmmaker based in London.

See the jury presentation
See the winners

More on Modemonline:

Circular Fashion Summit 2021: The Event Dedicated To Virtual Fashion

2022 Woolmark Prize Finalists

© Modem