The Winners of the 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards
by Modem – Posted November 10 2022
© Modem

The Cfda Awards focus on the best designers and creative minds of the past year, in addition to those who have had significant contribution to the fashion industry. The ceremony held at Cipriani South Street at Casa Cipriani in Manhattan and presented in partnership with Amazon Fashion. Raul Lopez of Luar won the American Accessory Designer of the Year, the American Emerging Designer of the Year was given to Elena Velez, while Catherine Holstein, creative director of Khaite took home the Womenswear Designer of the Year, Emily Adams Bode Aujla of Bode was awarded the Menswear Designer of the Year for a second time.

There were also two inaugural awards at this year’s ceremon. The Positive Social Influence award, which was awarded the collective called The Slaysians, composed by fashion designers Prabal Gurung, Phillip Lim and Laura Kim, Tina Leung and restauranteur Ezra J. Williams, won. The group of friends have teamed up in 2021 to found House of Slay in response to rising anti-Asian hate crimes. Instead, the inaugural recipient of Stylist Award was Law Roach.

To mark the Cfda's 60th anniversary year, the Cfda added a one-time Special Anniversary Award, which went to longtime Cfda member Jeffrey Banks. The awards were presented by Anna Wintour, Kerry Washington, Bradley Cooper, Trevor Noah, Joel Kim Booster, Keke Palmer, and Cher.


- American Womenswear Designer of the Year: Catherine Holstein for Khaite
- American Menswear Designer of the Year: Emily Bode Aujla for Bode
- American Accessory Designer of the Year: Raul Lopez for Luar
- American Emerging Designer of the Year: Elena Velez
- Board of Trustee's Award: Virgil Aboh
- Fashion Icon: Lenny Kravitz
- Positive Social Influence Award: Slaysians from The House of Slay featuring Prabal Gurung,
Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung and Ezra William
- Founder's Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Andrew Bolton
- Amazon Innovation Award: Kim Kardashian, Emma Grede and Jens Grede of Skims
- Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark of Chrome Hearts
- Media Award in Honore of Eugenia Sheppard: Patti Wilson
- Environmental Sustainability Award: The United Nations
(to be accepted by Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, United Nations Deputy Secretary-General)
- Stylist Award: Law Roach
- Special Anniversary Award: Jeffrey Banks

Photo: Trevor Noah and Emily Adams Bode Aujla. Courtesy of Cfda

© Modem