Back to the previous page

The Global Nominees of the International Woolmark Prize 2017/2018

May 12 2017

The prize previously won by then young and unknown designers Karl Lagerfeld,21 and Yves Saint Laurent, 18 years old, in 1954. The International Woolmark Prize crosses cultures by seeking up-and-coming talent, the award continues to support the careers of emerging designers from around the world, many of whom have gone on to build internationally successful businesses. The International Woolmark Prize continues to grow in size and status. Identifying future design stars and showcasing new interpretations, on the highest quality Australian Merino wool through their collections and the international fashion industry. The restructure of the innovation award this year puts the textile mills in focus to celebrate creativity and innovative fabric or yarn development in wool. The introduction of the innovation award aims to inspire finalists to be more creative and experimental when developing fabric or yarn for their final collections.

Each of the 65 global nominees competing in this year’s regional event will receive AU$2000 (€13 60) to assist in the development of their submission piece. One of the 12 global finalists with the most creative and experimental yarn or fabric will receive the newly introduced innovation award, AU$100 000 (€67 900) as well as being presented with commercial opportunities.

In addition, each regional Menswear and Womenswear winner this year will receive AU$70,000 (€47 500) towards their final collection. The prize money for the two eventual winners has also increased, with the global Menswear and Womenswear winner each receiving AU$200,000 (€135700).

The Woolmark Company’s Managing Director Stuart McCullough explains,

“Each year, I am truly, amazed with what our finalists present to the judges. Just when you may think you've seen it all, along comes an exciting new fabric or innovative new yarn, and that's why we have established the Innovation Award. It not only keeps competition fierce, but it also allows for our prestigious trade partners to get global recognition and ultimately increases the market share of wool. The Innovation Award also provides The Woolmark Company with another opportunity for The Woolmark Company to engage and celebrate the work of our trade partners.”

Below are the nominated designers from diverse locations

Menswear Nominees –

• Bmuet(te) – South korea
• Six Lee – China
• PRONOUNCE – Greater China
• ROGGKEI – Japan

Australia and New Zealand
• AMXANDER – Australia
• Blairarchibald – Australia
• Chris Ran Lin – Australia

British isles
• Liam Hodges
• Matthew Miller
• Phoebe English

22/4 HOMMES – Germany
• Arte Antwerp – Belgium
• Jazz Chris – Netherlands
• L’HOMME ROUGE – Sweden
• Miao Ran – Italy
• MiiN – Turkey
• MIRO SABO - Czech Republic
• NEO design – Serbia
• Palomo Spain – Spain

India, Pakistan and Middle East
• Antar –Agni – India
• Dhruv Kapoor – India
• Theorem – India
• Varoin Marwah – Dubai
• Ziggi Menswear – Pakistan

• Death To Tennis
• Dyne
• Kenneth Ning
• N-p-Elliott
• Palmiers Du Mal

Womenswear Nominees -

• KYE – South Korea
• PEGGY HARTANTO – Indonesia
• Yuima Nakazato – Japan

Australia and New Zealand
• Elissa McGowan – Australia
• Thomas Puttick – Australia
• Harman Grubiša – New Zealand

British isles
• Helen Lawrence
• Le Kilt
• Sadie Williams

• Aika Alemi – Kazakhstan
• Wim Bruynooghe - Belgium
• Bashaques’ – Turkey
• Brognano – Italy
• David Laport – Netherlands
• Mark Kenly Domino Tan – Denmark
• Tereza Rosalie Kladošová - Czech Republic
• Moisés Nieto – Spain
• Vladimir Karaleev – Germany

India, Pakistan and Middle East
• Bodice – India
• Hemang Agrawal – India
• Péro’ – India
• Khadija Rahman – Pakistan
• Zonia Anwaar – Pakistan
• Matar – Bahrain
• Nour Najem – Lebanon
• Timi Hayek – Lebanon

• Andrea Jiapei Li
• Claudia Li
• Kenneth Ning
• PH5
• Protagonist
• Zaid Affas

The Woolmark Company has commissioned Australian-born, Los Angeles-based artist Jonathan Zawada to create the trophies for this year’s regional and final events, each crafted from marine debris bakelite. Developed by Ocean Collection, marine debris bakelite is a product created entirely from recycled plastic collected from Australian shorelines, and is described by to have a marbled aesthetic.

The regional finals are to be held in Dubai, London, Milan, New York, Seoul and Sydney throughout July.

Get to know them online and continue following as they prepare to present their work.

More information: The International Woolmark Prize

Picture by The International Woolmark Prize : The Trophie designed by Jonathan Zawada