Kapwani Kiwanga Winner of the 2020 Marcel Duchamp Prize
by Modem – Posted October 23 2020
© Modem

On Monday, October 19, 2020, the jury met to choose the winner of the 2020 Marcel Duchamp Prize from among the four artists nominated for this edition: Alice Anderson, Hicham Berrada, Kapwani Kiwanga and Enrique RamÍrez.
These deliberations followed a presentation of the artists by their rapporteurs, namely: Annabelle Gugnon, Jean-Jacques Aillagon, Emanuele Coccia, Ángeles Alonso Espinosa.
The jury of seven personalities - Bernard Blistène, Gilles Fuchs, Chris Dercon, Michèle Guyot-Roze, Gitte Ørskou, Akemi Shiraha and Marie-Cécile Zinsou - awarded the 2020 Marcel Duchamp Prize to Kapwani Kiwanga. Born in 1978 in Hamilton, Canada, she lives and works in Paris. She is represented by the Poggi galleries in Paris, Goodman Gallery in Johannesburg and Tanja Wagner in Berlin.

Organizer: The Association for the International Diffusion of French Art (ADIAF) founded in 1994 and which brings together 350 contemporary art collectors
Partners: The Center Pompidou and the International Contemporary Art Fair (FIAC) since 2005
Eligibility condition: Be a French artist or reside in France
Reward: endowment of 35,000 €
Year of creation: 2000
Some laureates: Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster (2002), Philippe Mayaux (2006), Tatiana rire (2007), Cyprien Gaillard (2010), Latifa Echakhch (2013), Julien Prévieux (2014)